Eulogy for Grandma

Today we had a service for my Grandmother who passed away this past Thursday morning.  I was given the honor of speaking at the funeral.  The following is what I said.

I got to thinking about the memories I have of Grandma.  I will never forget staying with her during the summer sometimes and eating all kinds of pizza.  I will never forget Christmas at her house and the green jello that was always there, I never really did like the stuff.  I remember once when she let me drive her Pizza King work Camaro around her drive way before I got my license.  I was on top of the world that day.  I remember a hanging plant she had in the corner of her dining room when I was younger that I used to touch all the time that was until she told me one day that if I touched the plant again it would grab a hold of me and wrap around me.   I remember a trip I got to take with her.  She took my mother, sister and I to Washington D.C.  It was an amazing trip to get to learn and see the history of our great country.  I got to thinking about this trip a lot this past week after hearing about her passing.  We got to see so much of the legacy of the United States on that trip.  This got me to thinking about Grandma’s legacy.  A legacy that included her raising four children who I might add have made the best mother and best aunts and uncle I could have ever have had, a legacy where she endured the loss of her first husband and found a wonderful man in Dave who loved her grandchildren as his own, a legacy where she taught her family how to love.  I will never forget the hugs this woman would give me.  They were not 5 second hugs, but hugs that felt like she was holding on for eternity.  I will miss those hugs the most.  So I wonder today, how do we continue her legacy?  How do we take the legacy she has shown us and continue it on in our own lives?  How do I continue this legacy in my own children, her great-grandchildren’s lives?  We continue her legacy by showing the same love she showed us.  By loving our family the same way she loved her family.  I think all of you would agree that nothing made her happier than getting to see her family.  Having us all together for picnics and holidays was one of her highlights and you could see it on her face.  So we continue her legacy by loving one another.

I Corinthians 13:1-3 says, “1 If I speak in the tongues of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. 2 If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. 3 If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast, but do not have love, I gain nothing.”

I think she understood this verse because we see the legacy she left.  If we continue this legacy in our own lives then even though Grandma is no longer with us on earth she will continue to live on in each and every one of us.

It is never easy when you lose someone you love.  Praise God we have hope through Jesus to get through the tough situations in life.

Published by

Chad Dillon

My name is Chad Dillon and I am the Middle School Pastor at Chapel Rock Christian Church in Indianapolis, Indiana. I have also served churches in Ohio and Tennessee. I am husband to Nicole and dad to Madison and Adam. I love to ride my motorcycle and play golf in my spare time. This blog is going to be about my life as a youth minister. The ups, downs and everything in between. I hope you enjoy it.

One thought on “Eulogy for Grandma”

  1. Chad – My condolences to you and your extended family at the loss of your grandma. Your eulogy was a blessing to read and I’m sure pales by comparison to the blessing your grandmother was to you and all those she loved. – Kevin (SoTC)

Leave a Reply

