When are you going to become a real minister?

What a question. “When are you going to become a real minister?” If you are in youth ministry at some point you have been asked this question. Unfortunately, this question comes from people who are a bit misguided. This would be like someone asking a lineman on a football team when he was going to become the quarterback and be a real football player. Being a youth minister is being a REAL minister. I still preach every week (to our teens), I still make hospital calls, I still try to help people get deeper in their walk with Christ, I still work long hours, I also do some counseling and serve on ministry teams.  The ministry I do is real ministry and I love it!  I love working with teens and seeing them make decisions for God.  I love seeing when they are in a tough situation and they rely on God to get them through.  I love seeing them understand something about God for the first time and I love seeing them want to change the world for God.  This is why I do what I do.  This is why I have no desire at the present time to be a Senior Minister, because I want to do what God has designed me to do and that is work with teens.

Not everyone sees it this way.  Most people understand what I do is real ministry.  They see the change God is doing in each of the teens lives.  They understand we need to change this generation because they are part of the church.  These are the people who understand that some people have a desire to do youth ministry, and I am one of those people.  So if being a youth minister is not being a real minister then I will be the first to say I don’t want to be a “REAL” minister.

Published by

Chad Dillon

My name is Chad Dillon and I am the Middle School Pastor at Chapel Rock Christian Church in Indianapolis, Indiana. I have also served churches in Ohio and Tennessee. I am husband to Nicole and dad to Madison and Adam. I love to ride my motorcycle and play golf in my spare time. This blog is going to be about my life as a youth minister. The ups, downs and everything in between. I hope you enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

