Ministry and Tweeting

We looked a little bit in my last post on whether Twitter would last or if it was just a fad.  Today I want to look at a benefit of using Twitter in your youth ministry.

Today’s teens are so connected.  They have cell phones and they use them all the time.  I for one collect them before 85823717youth group so they are not using them during our time together.  This also becomes and issue on trips.  I want the kids to be disconnected from the things they are leaving behind but still want them to be able to communicate with their parents.  Normally, I let the teens use my cell phone to call home but parents still don’t get much of what is going on.  You know how that conversation goes.  It usually looks like this; Mom—“How is the trip?”  Teen—“Fine. . .”  When in actuality the teen recommitted their life to Christ, decided to lead a small group at school and chose to commit a full summer serving a missionary oversees.  So it was important for me to figure out a way to get the parents and the church involved in what happens on the trips we take.  This is where Twitter comes in.

I noticed before our summer trips this year a lot of our parents had Facebook pages.  This is a great thing because it means most of them are watching what their teen posts.  I also noticed a lot of comments from these parents on what I was posting.  I decided before our trip I would tweet what is going on.  Since my Twitter updates my Facebook status this would let the parents see my tweets.  Throughout the week I would post what was going on.  I would tweet about messages, worship and even the fun things we did.  I was even able to post pictures and videos through twitpic.com and 12seconds.tv.  There were a lot of comments from our parents and our church members.  The truly felt like they were part of our trip.  I remember one night the message was on sin and our teens were being convicted.  I quickly tweeted about this and asked for prayer for our teens.  Within minutes people from our church were praying.  What an awesome experience.  It was a blessing for both them and our teens.  We also saw our parents know more about what their teens were doing.  When we got back from the trip it was nice to see parents and teens talking about what happened.

Twitter is a great ministry tool to communicate with your parents and your church.  Being able to quickly and easily do updates on what was going on kept our parents and church informed.  It also increased the prayer support for the trip.  In my opinion this is one of the most beneficial uses of Twitter.  So Tweet away my friends, tweet away!

Published by

Chad Dillon

My name is Chad Dillon and I am the Middle School Pastor at Chapel Rock Christian Church in Indianapolis, Indiana. I have also served churches in Ohio and Tennessee. I am husband to Nicole and dad to Madison and Adam. I love to ride my motorcycle and play golf in my spare time. This blog is going to be about my life as a youth minister. The ups, downs and everything in between. I hope you enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

