Twitter, Fad or forever?

There have been a lot of questions in ministry about whether Twitter is here to stay or just a fad.  I can see both sides of the argument.  On one side it is a good way communicate with people and on the other side how many of us still use phone trees in our ministry?  There are a lot of questions on its worth.  In my ministry I use it often, my senior minister on the other hand does not use it at all.

Is Twitter here to stay or just a fad?
Is Twitter here to stay or just a fad?

So what could keep Twitter from sticking around, what would cause it to go the way of the hymnal?  One hold back it has is individuals have to subscribe or “follow” your “tweets” (posts).  This could be a way to get information out to your students but should not be the only way because your students have to follow your tweets.  Another thing that could cause it to lose its effectiveness would be caused by what I call “hollow tweets.”  We have all done it, I know I have.  These tweets are a waste of internet space.  They are one word tweets, tweets about going to bed, etc.  They are like junk mail.  To be honest this is where, for most of us, being able to follow people is nice because if their “tweets” are hollow we can chose to un-follow them.

The biggest downfall I see in using it for youth ministry is it seems most of the people who use it are gen-x’ers.  I cannot think of any of my students that actually have Twitter.  It seems as though the majority of people using it are young to middle age adults.  One great remedy is the ability to have Facebook update your status from Twitter.  For me this gets the message to my teens since they all have Facebook.

As you can see, I for one support Twitter and using it in ministry.  It is hard for me to see the other side because I see the benefits of using Twitter.  Over the next few weeks I will be doing some blog posts about the benefits of Twitter in ministry.  Stay tuned!

Published by

Chad Dillon

My name is Chad Dillon and I am the Middle School Pastor at Chapel Rock Christian Church in Indianapolis, Indiana. I have also served churches in Ohio and Tennessee. I am husband to Nicole and dad to Madison and Adam. I love to ride my motorcycle and play golf in my spare time. This blog is going to be about my life as a youth minister. The ups, downs and everything in between. I hope you enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

